The Ninth French Philosophy of Mathematics Workshop is the ninth edition of a yearly conference in Philosophy of Mathematics organized by a group of French and International researchers, both philosophers and mathematicians.

This conference is sponsored by:

  • the ANR/DFG MathObRe program ;
  • a Research Group on Philosophy of mathematics (GDR 3719 ) funded by the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), which is directed by Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz (SPHERE, Paris 7) and aims at promoting and federating French researches in philosophy of mathematics ;
  • the Université de Lorraine ;
  • the Archives Henri-Poincaré.

Past editions of the conference can be consulted at the address: https://philmath.hypotheses.org/fpmw.

The 7th edition can be consulted also at the following address: http://fpmw7-2015.sciencesconf.org/

The three-day conference will be held from Thursday October 5 to Saturday October 7, 2017 at the Archives Henri Poincaré in Nancy.

FPMW 9 will be preceded by the closing conference of the ANR-DFG research project MathObRe (https://sites.google.com/site/mathobre/), which will be held on October 4 from 10.15 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. at the same place.



Deadline for submission: May 1st, 2017

Notification of acceptance: Jun 30th, 2017

Submissions of papers in any topic of philosophy of mathematics are welcome. The language of the workshop is English. Younger scholars and graduate students working on their dissertations are encouraged to submit. Each submission should be no between 3,000 and 5,000 characters.

Contributions should be submitted online, creating a personal account on this website and uploading a .doc .rtf or .pdf file containing the proposal in an anonymous form. Please specify in Comments if you are a PhD student.

Should you encounter difficulties, you can send your proposal to the address: fpmw9@sciencesconf.org writing [abstract] in the topic of your message. Proposals should include in the text of the message the following information: title of the paper, email address and affiliation of the author(s).

Any workshop in the series feature both invited and contributed talks.  The invited speakers to FPMW 9 are:

Yves  André (CNRS, Institut des Mathématiques Jussieu-Paris Rive Gauche)

Mirna Džamonja (East Anglia Univ., Norvich)

David Rabouin (CNRS, SPHERE, Univ. of Paris Diderot – Patis 7)

Vincenzo de Risi (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)



Conference registration is mandatory, because the access to the University site is restricted. Please register before October 2, 2017.

The inscription fee is of 20 €. All lunches and the Gala dinner are included.

To register, you need first to create an account on the site Sciencesconf, then to login, and finally click on the link Registration in the Main Menu and fill in the required form. The platform for the on-line payment will be open on September 10.

If you do not manage to create your own account on Sciencesconf, please send a message to the following email address:  fmpw9-organization@sciencesconf.org,  adding [Registration] in the object.

The Laboratoire d'Histoire des Sciences et de Philosophie – Archives Henri-Poincaré is part of the CNRS and of the University of Lorraine. Our research goes from philosophy and history of science to esthetics, history of philosophy, metaphysics and formal epistemology.


  • Valeria Giardino (AHP/CNRS)
  • Gerhard Heinzmann (AHP/UL)
  • Philippe Nabonnand (AHP/UL)
  • Baptiste Mélès (AHP/CNRS)



  • Anny Bégard
  • Pierre-Edouard Bour
  • Lydie Mariani



  • Julien Bernard (Ceperc/AMU)
  • Valérie Debuiche (Ceperc/AMU)
  • Emmylou Haffner (Arbeitsgruppe Didaktik und Geschichte der Mathematik, SPHERE, Bergische Universität Wuppertal)
  • Brice Halimi (IRePh/Université Paris-Nanterre)
  • Thomas Hausberger (Université de Montpellier)
  • Sébastien Maronne (Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse/Université de Toulouse Paul Sabatier)
  • Jean-Jean-Pierre Marquis (Université de Montréal)
  • Marco Panza (IHPST/CNRS)
  • Fréderic Patras (Laboratoire Jean-Alexandre Dieudonné/CNRS)
  • Francesca Poggiolesi (IHPST/CNRS)
  • Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz (SPHERE/Paris 7)



Online user: 1